Knowing Your Saudi’s Tribe Can Be Interesting

 

My husband is a good story teller and we have fun discussing the history and characteristics of his tribe and any other Saudi tribe that he knows about masha’Allah. For instance, his tribe (Al-Blank) are known for being numerous, respected, joining in a very important battle back in the day, eating onions and the men are known for wearing the ighaal to the (blank) side of their head. Can you guess which tribe my husband belongs too?


If you are going to marry a Saudi, you should ask him/her about his tribe: Are they liberal or conservative? Accepting of non-Saudis in their family? How do they treat their women family members? Don’t forget to ask the more fun questions: The name of the tribe and sub-tribe, its origins, history and the characteristics (which region of Saudi Arabia they are from, food, dress, tribal dance/songs/poetry).


Naiyf Al-Qurashi volunteers his opinion on the subject of tribes in Saudi, “Saudi society started with tribes and till this day tribal law dominates. Are the tribes of Saudi Arabia racist? YES. 

Even as we adopted Islam, we kept our racism. We wanted to keep the pure Arabic Semitic blood and give trust only to our own kind.

I don’t agree with it, but it still exists.
It also has to do with family relations. In a tribal society such as ours, marrying someone means being a part of the wife’s family and the wife’s family being a part of the husband’s family.
Throughout history, we see leaders married someone for the sake of getting support of his/her family.
For someone who never lived inside a tribal society, it’s hard to understand. My family is tribal so I know how its goes. P.S.,
I don’t agree with most of the tribal laws thats out there but I do agree with some of it, especially the part of bonding together and standing up and helping each other.”

 



Majid aka Saudi Majix mixes his posts with realism, humor and loves to tease his readers with tidbits of information about himself that leaves them wondering who he really is. In one of his posts, In The Mix, he gives an example of what happens when you encounter someone from the same tribe in a position of authority and how it can suddenly work in a Saudi’s favor. His experience demonstrates the solidarity between tribal members who are complete strangers to each other. 

BUT what exactly did the officer think of Majid before seeing “Al-Shammari” on his Saudi ID hmmm?

Tara Umm Omar
IN THE MIX
By Saudi Majix
8 March 2010
Stopped at a speeding check point,
Rolled down my window,
The officer ”You were speeding, your Iqama please and car papers.”
With a smile, I hand him my Saudi ID,
The officer blushing and feeling awkward  ”I’m sorry about that, I thought….”
“Don’t worry, no harm was done” I said.
The officer after reading my family name ”Your Shammari?”
I said “Yes, I am.”
The officer pointing at his own name tag  ”Wa alna’am, I’m Shammari too.”
I said ”Good for you, I guess!”
He handed me my ID back and told me to go on my way, and I did.
Then I thought what was that about me speeding,
Happens to me a lot, lucky me I guess ^.^
I’m considered 100% Saudi, really???
My father is Saudi, his father is a Saudi, his father’s  father was Saudi,
Man, our tribe was here before there was a Saudi Arabia ^.^
That been said, I’m not really a Saudi in the eyes of my peers.
I don’t look like one ^.^
I sure don’t act like one,
Makes me wonder what a Saudi look like O.o
Why I don’t look like a Saudi????
Read on you might get a hint.
My mother is Saudi, she was born a Saudi,
But her father’s father came from Iran when he was 9 years old,
And her mother is from Eastern Turkmanstan, thats used to be a country south/west of China I think.
My mother side of the family look very much Asians ^.^ I got some of it in my blood ^.^
But as my mother side of the family still attached to the heritage they brought.
And MAN, do I love the food :p
My Mother is divorced and I live with her, and my two young brothers, Tariq (married), and Saad.
And YES my younger brother is married and I’m not. And please don’t go there “A blog on the way, WHY!” ^.^
My mothers two sisters one older and one youngest are married to Egyptian,
Her brother younger then my mom is married to an American,
My mom married a Saudi “DUH”,
So to sum it all we are one wild Family ^.^
As it all interesting mix I’m grateful ^.^
Being IN THE MIX is good ^.^ it’s not all bad,
At least I didn’t get a speeding ticket.
Ahhhh, that been said!
Cheers
Photo Credit:
Published by

Tara Umm Omar

American married to a Saudi.

24 thoughts on “Knowing Your Saudi’s Tribe Can Be Interesting”

  1. >Assalaamu alaikum,I always ask my husband about tribes and he never answers me! He doesn't really know the answers! All he knows is what city his family came from….I would love to ask his father, but I think it would be weird, and he'd probably wonder where all the questions were coming from.Saudi Majix – nice story! going now to check out your blog!

    Like

  2. >Umm Riyam- Wa alaikum salam wa rahmatullah wa barakatuh. Maybe he never asked his family or his family never told him? SubhanAllah! Better to have your husband do the questioning.Srinivas- Nope! Keep guessing 🙂

    Like

  3. >I enjoy hearing from my husband as well, he tells me the old stories, and I get some from his father who has much nicer stories.. lol. My husbands main line is 1) the prophet PBUH mother is from his tribe… his tribe will be amongst the biggest tribes fighting against the Dijal.. lol.. so yeah. And from there he always reminds me that his sub tribe is the largest of the main tribe.. and on he goes… its interesting.. and love knowing all this for the sake of my children, so that they will know where they are from. I already know up to my 20th great-great-insert many greats grandfathers names… so it will be nice to teach them the other side as well.Interesting post! I personally can't even begin to guess your husbands tribe, but I might cheat and ask my father-in-law 😛

    Like

  4. >Om Lujain- Lol the challenge is on…let's see what your father-in-law comes up with. I think its great that your father-in-law is enthusiastic and takes pride in telling about his tribe. You should blog about it seriously! So your husband's tribe is Al-Shareef?

    Like

  5. >Umm Riyam- Lol this is getting fun! I know of one tribe from Qasim region called Bin Hindi. I asked my husband about others and he named the Al-Shaykhs. He told me there were a lot of migrations to the area so there are a lot of tribes. Also there were some that came from Iraq (like the 4-5th grandfather) and don't have a tribe so go by the family name.Om Lujain- Darn! Al-Araby? Lol hehehe

    Like

  6. >Ok.. lets say that his family is from Qaseem.. and the names u may have named are from the same Main tribe 😛 (btw.. the first guess I am looking for is the MAIN tribe.. not the sub tribes u may or may not have mentioned :P)And I have yet to sit with my husband or father0-in-law to get answers out of them.. but will do so as soon as possible 🙂 (I like winning :P)

    Like

  7. >Assalaamu alaikum. very interesting post.@Om Lujain: from what i remember of the hadeeth of rasoolullah sallallaahu alaihi wa sallam, your husband's tribe should be Banu Tameem? is that right?shariq

    Like

  8. >Om Lujain- LOL come on with it then. And hurry up because I'm in suspense lol.Shariq- Wa alaikum salam wa rahmatullah wa barakatuh. I think you've got it! I remember Banu Tamim listed as one of the tribes of present day Qasim.Majid- Why are you so quiet…did you give up on guessing my husband's tribe 😉

    Like

  9. >Shariq.. Wow,.. ur good!!! u got it right on the first try!! Tara.. I shall keep u in suspense till tomorrow when I will be able to ask my questions… hehehe… watch me not even get it then!

    Like

  10. >alhumdulillah. i only got it because there is a hadeeth from the prophet sallallahu alaihi wa sallam that tells us that the toughest people against the dajjaal will be bani tamim! and since you had said that your husband told you something similar, i just put two and two together! lol. i will inshaallah look for the hadeeth and post it here, unless some one else can find it before me.shariq

    Like

Comments are closed.