5 Things About FHWS

1. When did you start your blog?

I first started the idea of accumulating news articles, my personal stories and advice on non-Saudi/Saudi marriages at my World Of Islam website back in 2005. I had a main page called “Wives Of Saudis” with sub-pages. When I ran out of space, I decided to move it to Blogger and named it Future Husbands And Wives Of Saudis (FHWS). This was in August 2008.

2. What do you write about?

FHWS is a reference bog to help non-Saudis make an informed decision on marrying a Saudi and living in Saudi Arabia. I post relevant news articles, personal stories and interviews (including my own), I promote blogs/websites of both Saudis and non-Saudis whether they are married to Saudis or not, give advice to non-Saudi/Saudi couples who are struggling with the Saudi marriage permission, interesting features or books, the issue of women driving in Saudi Arabia which I am passionate about and articles on Saudi Arabia, its people, culture/society, government and laws. I don’t write as much as I used to due to time constraints. Nowadays, I may give a small introduction to a personal story or give a brief opinion of an article I’m posting.

3. What makes your blog special?

I guess it would be considered special because I have gathered all non-Saudi/Saudi marriage related information in one location so people searching on this subject won’t have to look all over the internet for it. Also my personal experience of being a non-Saudi married to a Saudi, living in Saudi Arabia and still dealing with the Saudi marriage permission problem even though we received our Saudi marriage permission in 2005, puts me in a unique position to be able to help other non-Saudi/Saudi couples in the same boat.

4. What made you want to start writing a blog?

The frustration of having to search everywhere on the internet and only finding information on non-Saudi/Saudi marriages and marriage permission with great difficulty. I wanted to create an opportunity for others in my situation to have support and network. Overall, I enjoy helping people but FHWS is not only my blog, it is the blog of everyone who has contributed to making FHWS a success.

5. What would you like to change in your blog?

I need to buy a digital camera so I can take pictures of Saudi Arabia and post them on FHWS! For those wanting to live in Saudi Arabia, if they can see pictures of Saudi Arabia along with what they are reading on FHWS then it would make it more interesting for them. I’d also like to start posting videos, I just need to devote more time to it.

Published by

Tara Umm Omar

American married to a Saudi.

A penny for your thoughts...

