The Unforgotten Saudis

By What’s Up KSA

We met Mr. Abdullah Al Homod the CEO of a Saudi organization called Awasser to learn more about what the organization does and how they operate on a global scale.

To understand Awasser’s work, let’s assume that a Saudi citizen traveled abroad for business, pleasure, or even study, and that he found himself in a situation where he had to get married. Now let’s imagine that this person left that country to return to Saudi Arabia, leaving behind a spouse, who might be pregnant without knowing it at the time of the separation. This is where Awasser comes in and tries to find those Saudi abandoned children who are stranded away from their fathers and country. Since they are Saudis, Awasser takes on the task to educate them, help them, and provide means to return them home and reconnect Saudi citizens abroad to their family ties in Saudi Arabia. This simply makes Awasser a very unique organization.

Financial Support:

Once Awasser finds and confirms the existence of a Saudi child abroad, they investigate the case, to make sure that the child is the son or daughter of a Saudi citizen. After that, Awasser contacts the father in Saudi Arabia, notifying him about the situation. While this process takes place, the organization transfers a monthly financial allowance to cover all the essential needs of that child until the situation is resolved. “As a Saudi, this child deserves our support till we get him or her back home,” affirms Mr. Abdullah Al Homod.

Moral And Social Support:


In some situations, the child or family might not need any financial support. However what might be most needed is moral and sentimental support, or perhaps just to know that their country cares about them; this is another area Awasser aims to cover, by creating an uninterrupted connection with needy Saudi families while abroad. When the family returns home, Awasser maintains a connection to ensure that the new family is comfortable and settling well in their new surrounding. “We even have classes and camps to prepare them to fit right into the Saudi society, and learn how to blend in to become part of it,” adds Mr. Abdullah Al Homod.

Health Support:

The support Awasser provides is extended to providing any type of health or medical aid to any Saudi child or his/ her mother while away from home. “The fact that they are away from Saudi Arabia doesn’t mean they can’t get good medical attention. We’ll make sure they get the best treatment available wherever they are,” promises Mr. Al Homod.

Educational Support:

Not only does Awasser help in selecting the best educational institute available in the locality and pay for it, but they also help registering Saudi children in schools and colleges once they are back in Saudi Arabia.

Housing And Relocating:

Once the child and his family return to his or her country, the organization helps them find a home within an area they can adjust to, and settle well in. Awasser even covers the rent for the Saudi family until they manage to reach the level of financial stability which enables them to provide for themselves.

Awasser is currently developing a new website which they hope will help people find their relatives. They are also developing an online form that will speed up the process to reconnect all the Saudi threads together again

Photo Credit: What’s Up KSA

More Reading:

Saudi Charity Extends Network Abroad
By Abdul Nabi Shaheen, Correspondent
Gulf News | Riyadh
April 1, 2011

Group expands list of needy citizens overseas.

Saudi charity society Awaser has announced that it has added 681 new needy Saudi families living abroad to the list of its sponsored families. It added that the families comprise 1,961 members in all.

This was disclosed by Dr. Tawfeek Bin Abdul Aziz Al Suwialem, chairman of the the society’s board. He noted that the group had expanded its services to cover 24 countries and recently received cases from Palestine, Tanzania and Djibouti.

Dr Al Suwialem said that the society was keen to reach Saudi families all over the world and extend assistance in cash or kind for them besides making arrangements for those desirous of returning home.

“The society helps in paying education fees for those families, supports health and social programmes, assists in issuing identity documents for them as well as provides tickets for those wishing to return to the kingdom,” he said.

For his part, Major General Abdullah Al Saleem, the deputy chairman of the society’s board said an ongoing effort to update processes and mechanisms had succeeded in reuniting many families struggling abroad with their extended families in the kingdom, he added.

He said the society realised its responsibilities and the sufferings of Saudi families living abroad. “For these reasons we work on a continuing basis to adopt new ideas, engage in consultations and benefit from similar experiences in order to achieve our set objectives,” he concluded.

Published by

Tara Umm Omar

American married to a Saudi.

6 thoughts on “The Unforgotten Saudis”

  1. >I found myself in a situation a while back in which I turned to Awasser for help for my son whose father is Saudi. I emailed them and they called me back and exchanged emails until I provided them all of the information they asked of me. After they had all of the information, they simply stopped responding to me. I emailed for months. I even called several times and never received one reply or one answer to my call. Alhamdullah my family made it through its rocky patch, however, Awasser was of absolutely NO help whatsoever to my family when we needed it. I have even tried to follow up since then to give them feedback about the poor treatment and response I received from their organization, but even that has been ignored. For this organization to boast about the benefits and programs they have for Saudi citizens, they sure turned their back on my son (a Saudi citizen). I still have no idea why. Maybe Mr. Homod would be interested to know the experience I had while trying to get help for my son and evaluate his organization's response. Just sayin'.

    Like

  2. >Oh my I am so sorry to hear of that Dania. But also happier that you no longer need their help. I wish we could read more of the good and not so good testimonials of AWASSER. I think journalists should also interview the people who have applied for assistance with AWASSER and ask their opinion of their services. Then it wouldn't be all one sided such as AWASSER telling us what THEY want us to hear. Can't wait to see what kind of website they develop. I'm curious, I don't know all of the details about your situation but to you think they didn't want to help you because your husband hadn't actually abandoned his family? If that is the case, they are probably being picky with their funds by reserving it for those who are in extreme dire straits.I really think they should have provided you a reason for their rejection rather than leaving you in the dark. It is unprofessional and causes bad feelings towards their organization.

    Like

  3. >You know Tara I honestly don't know what their motivation was behind cutting their communication. I have read very few positive stories about Awasser however. I was thrilled when they actually contacted me and began working on our case. I thought lucky us! We beat the system somehow lol. Nope. Dead wrong. But I agree with you completely that I should have been AT LEAST sent an email saying they can't help or whatever. I'm beginning to think Awasser is not an actual organization lol. Maybe it was "created" to give the appearance of social services in KSA working to help the forgotten children of Saudi fathers. Conspiracy theory I know but it makes me wonder due to the fact that I have literally not seen a single good testimonial written about them from people who have sought their help.

    Like

  4. >Did you keep a record of those testimonials or can you direct me to the links where the comments are? I found another recent article on AWASSER that I'm planning to post and I'd like to include them insha'Allah along with your feedback (with your permission of course). Jazaki'Allahu khair.

    Like

  5. >I wish I kept a record of them but I didn't. I have just stumbled upon them occasionally. There is a comment on the original article you linked here from a girl. The second comment is mine but she has a similar bad taste in her mouth from awasser. And definitely you can feel free to use my story sis no problem. If I find any I'll email you.

    Like

  6. >No problem. Insha'Allah…thanks in advance. I did see the comment from the woman you mentioned on What's Up KSA. I tried to search for any comments on AWASSER yesterday but didn't have any luck. Insha'Allah I will write a request in the introduction of a new post for anyone who has complaints/praise of AWASSER to please state so in the comments.

    Like

A penny for your thoughts...

