A European Christian Wants To Marry A Muslim Man Working In Saudi Arabia

photocreditpyschologytodayAnded1,

First off, I commend you for agreeing to your kids being raised as Muslims. Secondly, it is good that your husband’s family accepts you so that you will have the least interference and discord from in-laws and your marriage will start off on the right foot. This is particularly important if you will live in Saudi Arabia because the less stress you have adapting to a new country, insha’Allah the more comfortable you will be as a newlywed. Muslim men are allowed to marry women from People of the Book (Christian/Jewish) as long as they are chaste and not polytheists. (Alifta.com, Fatwas Of Permanent Committee, Fatwa 2229). At the same time, it is the duty of Muslims to invite non-Muslims to Islam in a way that is better but they can’t compel anyone to revert as guidance comes from Allah alone. “Invite (mankind, O Muhammad) to the way of your Lord (i.e. Islam) with wisdom (i.e. with the Divine Revelation and the Qur’aan) and fair preaching, and argue with them in a way that is better.” [Soorat An-Nahl 16:125]. May Allah guide you to Islam ameen.

Kidnapping of children by the spouse is a valid fear. But it doesn’t just happen in Saudi Arabia, it is perpetrated by spouses of different nationalities, religions and races. That having been said, it is without a doubt an important factor to weigh in marrying someone who is working in Saudi Arabia as the courts do usually make a decision on behalf of the fathers. Insha’Allah you will have nothing to fear from a Muslim man who fears Allah!

As for the process of marrying, your fiance will need to inquire with Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the marriage court and you should inquire with the Saudi Embassy in your country. I hope I have addressed all of your concerns.

If any FHWS readers would like to add to what I have said, please do so in the comment section.

Thank you,

taraummomarsignature4

Name: anded1

What was the marriage permission process like for you from beginning to end? Enter the details here: Hello, I am a non-Saudi from a European country and I am planning to marry someone who is from an Arab country and he is currently working in Saudi Arabia. My dad was Muslim but I am not because I got baptized to my mom’s religion when I was born. I have such a respect for Islam that even though my future husband want me to convert to Islam, I still can’t abandon some beliefs of the Christianity! Personally, from what I search in internet, I have the impression that Saudi Arabia is such a strict country and a country where the woman is under the man. And this country acts in many situations in the favor of men. Since my husband is employed in Saudi Arabia, many of our years will be spent there. What I would like to know is whether we are going to face any problem as it comes to religion because I will not change mine upon the marriage and if the guardian rules will apply to us also since my husband is not Saudi. Also I have read some posts about women that wanna get divorce but since the country acts on the side of man if in case of a divorce, I will be in such a situation also (not believable to take my kids with me or leave the country without his permission), and anything else you think I should be advised before I take this step. Note that my future husband lives in fear of Allah and I admire the love he shows to Allah and how faithful he is. I met his family and they had actually invited me to their house and they have been very good to me and they don’t have a problem if I want to keep my religion with the marriage although they showed to me their desire of me convert to Muslim. But any decision I take they will respect it as far as our kids become Muslims and I don’t have problem with that as long as there is respect in my religion as I respect theirs. For me in the end, we believe in the one and only God/Allah. Also I don’t know what process I would have to follow to marry him, since we just want to get marry in papers first just to make it legal so I can travel to him. Any help/advice is welcome.

Published by

Tara Umm Omar

American married to a Saudi.

A penny for your thoughts...

